This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Catered to 45,000+ happy customers • 24-Hour Dispatch on All Orders

First time with us? Use code : HELLOTHERE

Ultimate Guide to Navratri: History, Significance, & Traditions

Ultimate Guide to Navratri: History, Significance, & Traditions

Navratri, which translates to "nine nights" in Sanskrit, is a Hindu festival celebrated over a period of nine nights and ten days. It typically falls in the Hindu calendar month of Ashvin, which usually corresponds to September or October in the Gregorian calendar. Navratri is dedicated to the worship of various forms of the goddess Durga, also known as Shakti or Devi.            

During Navratri, devotees across India and in Hindu communities worldwide observe fasts, offer prayers, and participate in religious rituals to honor the goddess Durga and seek her blessings. The festival holds significant cultural and spiritual importance, symbolizing the victory of good over evil and the triumph of light over darkness.

Each day of Navratri is associated with the worship of a different form of the goddess Durga. These forms include:            

  1. Shailputri (Day 1)
  2. Brahmacharini (Day 2)
  3. Chandraghanta (Day 3)
  4. Kushmanda (Day 4)
  5. Skandamata (Day 5)
  6. Katyayani (Day 6)
  7. Kaalratri (Day 7)
  8. Mahagauri (Day 8)
  9. Siddhidatri (Day 9)

Navratri is celebrated with great enthusiasm and devotion, with various customs and traditions observed in different regions of India. One of the most popular aspects of Navratri celebrations is the performance of energetic dances known as Garba and Dandiya Raas, especially in Gujarat and other parts of western India.

Fasting in Navratri

Navratri is dedicated to the worship of the goddess Durga and her various forms. Fasting during this period is seen as a way to express devotion, reverence, and gratitude to the goddess for her blessings and protection. Fasting is believed to cleanse the body and mind of impurities, both physical and spiritual. It is seen as a form of purification that helps individuals attain a state of inner purity and spiritual clarity, enabling them to connect more deeply with the divine.     

During Navratri fasting, people typically abstain from consuming certain foods and follow a restricted diet that is considered pure and sattvic (pure) in nature. Various special foods and ingredients are used specifically for Navratri fasting. These include sabudana (tapioca pearls), singhare (water chestnut), makhana (foxnuts), sama ke chawal (barnyard millet), and rajgira (amaranth seeds), among others.

Garba in Navratri

Garba is a traditional dance form that is an integral part of Navratri celebrations, especially in the Indian state of Gujarat and among Gujarati communities worldwide. It is performed in honor of the goddess Durga and is characterized by its energetic and rhythmic movements. Garba is not just a dance form but also a social gathering where people come together to celebrate, socialize, and enjoy the festive spirit of Navratri. It is an occasion for friends and family to bond, exchange greetings, and share joyous moments.             

In conclusion, Navratri is a vibrant and auspicious Hindu festival celebrated over nine nights and ten days, dedicated to the worship of the goddess Durga and her various forms. It holds significant religious, spiritual, and cultural importance for millions of Hindus worldwide, symbolizing the triumph of good over evil, light over darkness, and the victory of righteousness. During Navratri, devotees observe fasting, offer prayers, and participate in religious rituals to honor the goddess Durga and seek her blessings for health, prosperity, and happiness. The festival is marked by colorful decorations, lively celebrations, and traditional customs such as Garba and Dandiya Raas, which bring communities together in joyous revelry.

Navratri is a time of spiritual renewal, cultural festivities, and the reaffirmation of faith in the divine feminine energy represented by the goddess Durga. It fosters a sense of unity, solidarity, and reverence among devotees, who come together to celebrate the divine presence and seek divine blessings.

As Navratri culminates with the celebration of Dussehra or Vijayadashami, marking the victory of good over evil, it serves as a reminder of the enduring power of righteousness and the triumph of truth. The festival instills values of courage, perseverance, and devotion, inspiring individuals to lead virtuous lives and uphold moral principles.      

Kanya Pujan: Also known as Kumari Puja, this ritual involves worshipping young girls as manifestations of the goddess Durga. Devotees invite girls to their homes, wash their feet, and offer them food, clothes, and gifts as a mark of respect for the divine feminine energy. 


As Navratri ends, devotees reflect on the significance of the festival and the blessings received during the nine auspicious nights. They offer prayers of gratitude to the goddess Durga for her protection, strength, and guidance, and seek her blessings for prosperity and well-being in the coming days.

Overall, Navratri's conclusion is a time of joy, celebration, and spiritual renewal as devotees bid farewell to the goddess Durga, feeling spiritually rejuvenated and ready to embark on life's journey with renewed vigor and devotion.

Yay! You're just ONE click away from transforming your home!


Congratulations! Your order qualifies for free shipping You are Rs. 1,000.00 away from free shipping.
No more products available for purchase